Fighting Addiction with Holistic Support

Through scholarships and key partnerships, Hanley Foundation provides a range of treatment support services.

Support for Substance Use Disorders

Recognizing that no single solution can solve the addiction epidemic, our approach at Hanley Foundation is holistic, incorporating multiple strategies to support those most in need. Between the cost of treatment — which is often not covered in full by insurance —  and the stigma of addiction, getting help is harder than it should be. That’s why Hanley Foundation actively advocates for increased access to care and provides treatment scholarships for those unable to afford it.

Overcoming Stigma with Advocacy

In addition to our extensive prevention, education and advocacy efforts, the teams at Hanley Foundation are committed to breaking down the stigma associated with addiction and helping those who are suffering get the help they need. We work with local leaders, Florida decision-makers, and other key partners across the country to raise awareness, provide financial resources, and increase access to care.

Types of Treatment

There are many types of addiction treatment. Every treatment program should be focused on meeting the needs of the patient and his or her circumstances.

Residential inpatient treatment is a type of addiction recovery program in which the patient stays overnight or longer at the treatment facility, with the length of stay usually lasting 30+ days. Typically, these programs are designed for those who need round-the-clock monitoring and medical care to safely detox from drugs and/or alcohol.

Outpatient treatment typically allows patients to sleep at home while receiving addiction and counseling treatment during the day.

Detox is the first stage of recovery for most patients. It involves supervised withdrawal from drugs and alcohol ahead of treatment. Both inpatient and outpatient treatments can include medically supervised detoxes.

Partial hospitalization programs (PHPs) offer the intensity of a residential program, often featuring comprehensive assessments and treatment plans and supporting patients with medical staff and solutions, but PHPs still offer the independence of an outpatient approach, allowing patients to stay at home or with family.

Intensive outpatient programs (IOPs) generally involve fewer hours per week than PHP, making it more flexible for individuals who may have work, school, or family commitments. IOPs offer some medical support, but are generally more focused on counseling, therapy, and group sessions.

Sober living is a transitional living environment for individuals recovering from substance use disorders. Sober living arrangements are designed to provide a community of abstinence, support, structure and accountability to help patients reintegrate back into society and rebuild their lives. Continued treatment, ongoing meetings, and house curfews are typical conditions of sober living facilities.

Addiction Terms

Substance Use Disorder (SUD): Substance Use Disorder is a clinical term used to describe a range of problematic patterns of substance use. It refers to the recurrent use of alcohol or drugs that leads to significant impairment or distress. SUD is characterized by impaired control, social impairment, risky use, and pharmacological criteria.

Treatment: Treatment, in the context of substance use, refers to the therapeutic interventions and services provided to individuals with Substance Use Disorders. These treatments can include behavioral therapies, counseling, medication-assisted treatment, and other evidence-based approaches aimed at reducing substance use and promoting recovery.

Recovery: Recovery refers to the process of positive change and healing for individuals with Substance Use Disorders. It involves addressing the physical, psychological, and social aspects of addiction and working towards a healthier, fulfilling life free from substance abuse. Recovery is a personal journey that varies for each individual.

DSM Levels: The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a standard classification system used by mental health professionals to diagnose mental health conditions, including SUDs. The DSM categorizes Substance Use Disorders into various levels of severity, ranging from mild to moderate to severe, based on the number of established criteria met by the individual. In the DSM-5, there are 11 criteria for SUD. A diagnosis of mild includes any 2 or 3 criteria; moderate, any 4 or 5 criteria; and severe includes any 6 or more criteria. The levels provide a framework for understanding the severity of the addiction and tailoring appropriate treatment approaches.

Recovery is a Journey

Treatment works. People do recover. It’s a mantra we live by — because we see it in action every day. Millions of Americans are struggle with devastating disease of addiction. Our mission is to eliminate addiction and facilitate long-term healing through treatment. Together, we can work to fight the addiction epidemic in our country and help more people on their recovery journey.